Philosophy

A rare sight

For Earth, Neowise is no stranger: his last visit was 4,500 years ago. With its elliptical orbit, closest to us, on July 22 and 23, 2020, at 103 million kilometers (about the distance between Venus and the Sun). It won’t come back until 6,800 years from now. Hence its importance to the human race. 

Running at full speed towards the Sun, this icy and dusty rock warms up leaving behind an intriguing hair of several million kilometers. Like most comets, Neowise is a rubble abandoned by the solar system after its construction; 5 kilometers in diameter. A straw!...

Visible until the beginning of August one hour before sunrise and one hour after sunset, between the legs of the Big Bear, it is better to move away from the lights of the city to photograph it with long pose, so indispensable tripod. 

This comet reminds us of at least two things:

  1. The Earth does not belong to us, we belong to it;
  2. The Earth cools .


Bye bye, sweet France...

How can you translate the movement of the Yellow Vests into plastic language, without pouring into the tearful imagery? In these manifestations, there is a lot of yellow (life in distress) but also sulfur (spontaneity), green (hope), grey (sky), blue (jeans), purple (sadness), red (war wounds). black (law enforcement and black blocs) and white (street medic).

In a democracy, the blood of any protester should remain in his body because protesting is a constitutional right; therefore, I invite you to sign the petition initiated by , Neurosurgeon and Department Head of CHRU Besançon for a Moratorium on the use of sublethal weapons.

I dedicate this work to all Yellow Vests mutilated for life.



Letter to a Yellow Vest, 2019

Counter-day mosan, 2019

Synthesis

With the theme of Landscape, I gradually give up my oscillation between figuration and abstraction to meet my need for synthesis, by means of clean, dense and penetrating plastics. I aspire to a suggestive art, therefore abstract, without necessarily losing the figurative aspect. In other words, I have only one ambition: to see the real with the intelligence of the dream


Freÿr, right side, 2019

Nothing is solid

With this canvas, it seemed interesting to me to suggest the castle of Freÿr instead of showing it, by a row of trees on the edge of the Haute-Meuse : the Orangery disappears in the light of the backlight.

This approach allows to concentrate on the subject by releasing the touch of the yoke of his drawing, where mastery and improvisation sometimes compete with the star.

Nothing is solid,



Study for Birds, 2019

A great adventure

Watching the sun dance on the Meuse at the end of the afternoon, behind a row of trees, I could hear the birds without seeing them, I had the impression of hearing the singing of the trees.

Before I fell asleep, I let myself be lulled by the memory of this spectacle, cherishing it in my mind as an inestimable treasure. How to translate it into plastic emotion by abstract forms without killing the image ?

The next day, Birds' first studies were born, quite simply.



Geolyrism

With abstract art, I build a bridge between my consciousness and the universe. I am convinced that a well-constructed, complex absolute form connects, by its points of force, cosmic energies and can harmonize the vibratory rate of our planet. Even if my intuition is not validated by science, I like this idea. In short, I am trying to synthesize geometric abstraction and lyrical abstraction, what I call geolyrism.





Lettre au Vimana, 2017

The quote

"A painting should be both abstract and figurative; abstract as a wall, figurative as a representation of a space." (Nicolas de Staël.)

Springing from an idea

At the end of the session, a few strokes of spatula and spalter to appreciate the birth of a germ of idea...

Making your own scales


Before painting, I like to study a range of complementary shades from a pure color (here vermilion) to understand its full vibratiion potential.

Live in the moment

A canvas to finish, a bunch of brushes in front of the open window, a corner of blue sky. The consciousness of the moment surprises me to dream...

Comparison

Comparison, 2020

Precise drawing of the structure which is guessed under the painting (slate grey) by a light to semi-backlight.

In construction.

A few square centimetres of a work are enough to discover the temperament of a painter.

Sketch

Sketch for Lettre à un Gilet Jaune, 2019. 

Despite a certain precision, there will be a great deal of improvisation in the execution of the work.

Pose of juices


Juice for Lettre à un Gilet Jaune, 2019.


Fragile, unpredictable step, the laying of juices determines all the plastic emotion; this is the moment when shapes and colors are chosen before making love...

Finished work

Lettre à un Gilet-Jaune,

2019

Google Analytics

Google Analytics is a service used on our website that tracks, reports traffic and measures how users interact with our website content in order for us to improve it and provide better services.

Facebook

Our website allows you to like or share its content on Facebook social network. By activating and using it you agree to Facebook's privacy policy: https://www.facebook.com/policy/cookies/

Twitter

Integrated tweets and share services of Twitter are used on our website. By accepting and using these you agree to Twitter's privacy policy: https://help.twitter.com/en/rules-and-policies/twitter-cookies

piwik

Philosophie

Un spectacle rare 

Pour la Terre, Neowise n'est pas une inconnue : sa dernière visite remonte à 4 500 ans. Avec son orbite elliptique, au plus près de nous, les 22 et 23 juillet 2020, à 103 millions de kilomètres (environ la distance entre Vénus et le Soleil). elle ne reviendra que dans 6 800 ans. D'où son importance pour l'espèce humaine. 

Filant à toute vitesse vers le Soleil, cette roche de glace et de poussières se réchauffe en laissant derrière elle une intrigante chevelure de plusieurs millions de kilomètres. Comme la plupart des comètes, Neowise est un gravat abandonné par le système solaire après sa construction ; 5 kilomètres de diamètre. Une paille !...

Visible jusqu'au début du mois d'août une heure avant le lever du Soleil et une heure après son coucher, entre les pattes de la Grande Ourse, il vaut mieux s'éloigner des lumières de la ville pour la photographier avec pose longue, donc trépied indispensable. 

Cette comète nous rappelle au moins deux choses :

  1. La Terre ne nous appartient pas, nous lui appartenons ;
  2. La Terre se refroidit .



Adieu, douce France...

Comment exprimer en langage plastique le mouvement des Gilets Jaunes, sans verser dans l'imagerie larmoyante ? Dans ces manifestations, il y a beaucoup de jaune (vie en détresse) mais aussi du soufre (spontanéité), du vert (espoir), du gris (ciel), du bleu (jeans), du violet (tristesse), du rouge (blessures de guerre). du noir (forces de l'ordre et black blocs) et du blanc (street medic), 

En démocratie, le sang de tout manifestant devrait rester dans son corps car manifester est un droit constitutionnel; c'est pourquoi, je vous invite à signer la pétition initiée par , neurochirurgien et chef de service du CHRU de Besançon pour un Moratoire sur l’usage des armes sublétales.

Je dédie cette oeuvre aux Gilets Jaunes mutilés à vie.

 




Lettre à un Gilet Jaune, 2019

Contre-jour mosan, 2019

Synthèse

Avec le thème du Paysage, j'abandonne peu à peu une oscillation entre la figuration et l'abstraction pour répondre à un besoin de synthèse, par des moyens plastiques épurés, denses et pénétrants. J'aspire à un art suggestif, donc abstrait, sans pour autant perdre nécessairement l'aspect figuratif. Autrement dit, je n'ai plus qu'une ambition : voir le réel avec l'intelligence du rêve.




Freÿr, rive droite, 2019

Rien n'est solide

Avec cette toile, il m'a semblé intéressant de suggérer le château de Freÿr au lieu de le montrer, par une rangée d'arbres au bord de la Haute-Meuse : l'Orangeraie disparaît dans la lumière du contre-jour.

Cette approche permet de se concentrer sur le sujet en libérant la touche du carcan de son dessin, où maîtrise et improvisation se disputent parfois la vedette.

Rien n'est solide,






Etude pour Birds, 2019

Une belle aventure

En regardant le soleil danser sur la Meuse en fin d'après-midi, derrière une rangée d'arbres, j'entendais les oiseaux sans les voir, j'avais l'impression d'entendre le chant des arbres. 

Avant de m'endormir, je me laissais bercer par le souvenir de ce spectacle, le chérissant dans mon esprit comme un trésor inestimable. Comment le traduire en émotion plastique par des formes abstraites sans tuer l'image ?

Le lendemain, les premières études de Birds jaillissaient du papier, tout simplement.



Géolyrisme

Avec l'art abstrait, je jette un pont entre ma conscience et l'univers. Je suis persuadé qu'une forme absolue complexe bien construite relie, par ses points de force, les énergies cosmiques et peut harmoniser le taux vibratoire de notre planète. Même si mon intuition n'est pas validée par la science, j'aime cette idée. Bref, je tente une synthèse de l'abstraction géométrique et de l'abstraction lyrique, ce que j'appelle géolyrisme ou géométrie lyrique.








La citation

"Une peinture devrait être à la fois abstraite et figurative ; abstraite en tant que mur, figurative en tant que représentation d'un espace." (Nicolas de Staël.)

Jaillissement d'une idée

En fin de séance, quelques coups de spatule et de spalter pour apprécier la naissance d'un germe d'idée...

Faire ses gammes


Avant de peindre, j'aime étudier une gamme de teintes complémentaires à partir d'une couleur pure (ici le vermillon) pour comprendre tout son potentiel de vibratiion.

Vivre dans l'instant

Une toile à finir, une botte de pinceaux devant la fenêtre ouverte, un coin de ciel bleu. La conscience de l'instant me surprend à rêver...

Comparaison

Comparaison, 2020

Dessin précis de la structure qui se devine sous la peinture (gris ardoise) par une lumière à semi contre-jour.

En chantier

En chantier, 2020

Quelques centimètres carrés d'une oeuvre suffisent pour découvrir le tempérament du peintre.

Esquisse

Esquisse pour "Lettre à un Gilet Jaune", 2019

Esquisse pour Lettre à un Gilet Jaune, 2019. 

L'esquisse affiche l'idée plastique, qui disparaîtra au fil du travail, pour laisser apparaître le fait plastique.

Pour accueillir le hasard, une part d'improvisation s'imposera d'elle-même pendant l'exécution de l'oeuvre.

Pose des jus

Pose des jus pour "Lettre à un Gilet Jaune", 2019

Pose des jus pour Lettre à un Gilet Jaune, 2019.

Etape fragile, imprévisible, la pose des jus détermine toute l'émotion plastique ; c'est le moment où formes et couleurs se choisissent avant de s'aimer...

Oeuvre achevée

Lettre à un Gilet-Jaune,

2019